Out Of The Closet, Into The Fire!

In honor of #NationalComingOutDay, I’m reposting this gem from last year.
As with most of my posts, this one is a little rough around the edges. But it does give you an idea of where my head was at that point of my life.

BTW, for anyone struggling with the decision to come out. It does get better. I am so much happier than I was then. Cheers!

ADignorantium

NCODI wanted to write something brilliant and inspiring for National Coming Out Day, something that would give future generations hope and pride. Then like most of my “inspiring ideas” I put it off until the last minute. So here I am at 12:15 AM with a head full of thoughts and nothing on paper … er, document file.

My earliest conversation about homosexuality was a curt one. I was maybe six years old. The idea of marrying a person of the opposite sex was alien to me. I knew that’s what people were supposed to do, but It wasn’t something I wanted to do. I didn’t think girls were yucky, or had cooties. It’s just that I knew I didn’t want to spend my life with a girl. So, one day, I casually asked my grandmother if two boys could get married. Well… I will never forget the look in…

View original post 1,580 more words

Leave a Reply

